FALL 2020





Lyrical, tender, charming, warm, majestic… These are a just a few words that apply equally to Florence Price’s String Quartet in G Major and Beethoven’s Opus 127 Quartet in E Flat Major. Though separated by a century, each groundbreaking genius overcame adversity to create these two works which express profound humanity and beauty. Beethoven struggled to compose his Op. 127 through illness and complete deafness; Price (perhaps the most notable African American women composers of the early 20th Century) composed her gorgeous G Major Quartet despite enduring systemic racial disadvantages. Through these works, both artists show us a roadmap to beauty, triumph, and our better selves. Florence PRICE, String Quartet in G Major BEETHOVEN String Quartet in E-flat Major, op. 127 MUSICIANS Liana Zaretsky, violin Julia Cash, violin Emily Rome, viola Leo Eguchi, cello Learn more about Florence Price TICKETS


After playing an enjoyable summer salon together, Lisa Goddard, Colin Davis, Anne Black, and Steven Laven return with a new program. Beethoven's String Quartet Op. 95, known as the "Serioso" quartet, is a compact piece on the cusp of Beethoven's late work, which pushes the boundaries of form and harmony further than ever before. William Grant Still's Lyric Quartette is a musical portrait of three of the composer's friends. Known as the "Dean of Afro-American Composers," Still's accomplishments include over 200 compositions, being the first African American to conduct a major orchestra (the L.A. Philharmonic), and collaborating with prominent literary and cultural figures in the Harlem Renaissance movement. The concert also includes James Lee III's Abraham’s Sons (in Memoriam Trayvon Martin). Intense and dramatic, this piece is dedicated to the family of Trayvon Martin. Mr. Lee musically depicts the scope of suffering and mourning inferred by the title of this elegiac solo piece. From one of Pro Arte's favorite living composers, Jessie Montgomery's Rhapsody No. 1 is the first in a series of virtuosic pieces for various solo instruments, which she premiered herself on violin in 2014. BEETHOVEN String Quartet in F minor, op. 95 "Quartetto Serioso" William Grant STILL Lyric Quartette James LEE Abraham's Sons (In Memoriam: Trayvon Martin) Jessie MONTGOMERY Rhapsody No. 1 MUSICIANS Lisa Goddard, violin Colin Davis, violin Anne Black, viola Steve Laven, cello TICKETS


Please join the principal winds of the Pro Arte Chamber Orchestra for a fabulous program of quintet music, all by American composers. We are so excited about this concert! We will travel through a couple of standards, the gorgeous Summer Music by Samuel Barber, the perfectly danceable Partita by Irving Fine, and also visit a couple of pieces that may be less familiar. Umoja, meaning unity, written by one of our top young American composers, Valerie Coleman, and is more timely than ever. We go back in time a bit with an arrangement of Summerland by the formidable and under performed William Grant Still, originally written for solo piano in 1936. And we couldn’t resist throwing in a nod to Paris with some Gershwin just for fun, because who doesn’t need some fun these days? We hope you’ll enjoy the journey as much as we will. BARBER Summer Music, Op. 31 FINE Partita Valerie COLEMAN Umoja STILL Summerland GERSHWIN An American in Paris MUSICIANS Ann Bobo, flute Nancy Dimock, oboe Ian Greitzer, clarinet Ron Haroutunian, bassoon Robert Marlatt, horn TICKETS


AMERICAN VIGNETTES Cellist Aron Zelkowicz is joined by pianist Christina Wright-Ivanova for a unique chamber music program that celebrates the American spirit. Twentieth and twenty-first century music for cello and piano showcase a variety of styles via tiny snapshots or "vignettes" from the American vernacular including jazz, blues, and folksong. Zelkowicz, a cellist with the ProArte Chamber Orchestra and many other local ensembles, and Wright-Ivanova, a professor at Keene State College, offer their interpretations of music by Carter Pann, Gabriela Lena Frank, Stacey Garrop, Kevin Puts and Stephen Paulus. MUSICIANS Aron Zelkowicz, cello Christina Wright-Ivanova, piano TICKETS


Program details coming soon. TICKETS


Program details coming soon. TICKETS

Click for concert details

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 590295
Newton, MA 02459

Phone: 617-779-0900

Email: info@proarte.org

Sponsored by

© 2020 Pro Arte Chamber Orchestra of Boston
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram